jardini and wyckii comm possible?

moe214

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Oct 13, 2014
Hi all, I'm new to this in a way, I've been reading on here and plenty of other forums since I was 10, I'm now 15. Over the years I've gained the basic knowledge of a lot of oddballs. Right now I have a 120 gallon with a artc which is approaching 2ft faster than I thought. From what I've read they slow down after a foot but he hasn't, I'd say an inch every 2 months (visually looking at the distance between him and the ends of the tank front to back). I have him with a pacu that's about 20 inches and a leporinus about a foot and a pleco about 14 inches. My plan is to get rid of the catfish and pacu . They've outgrown it obviously. I've read from people that have kept many wyckiis for years that you can keep a wyckii in a 120 for life. A jardini from my understanding grows 4 inches short of the max size of the wyckii. They've said that the wyckii doesn't attack fish that aren't on the bottom and that they don't normally attack until the fish comes close. I have plenty of drift wood for multiple hiding spots and visual separation from the leporinus. Though I doubt the wyckii can catch him seeing as that's the only reason the artc hasn't devoured him yet. I have a small power head for a little bit a current. My questions are
1. Do you think they will bother each other once over a foot?
2. Are their temperatures and water chemistry similar enough to cohab?
3. Should I accept what I've read as the rule? (I don't think so seeing as how, no offense to anyone, those who I see say wyckiis are a specimen only fish haven't actually kept them and those that have said that kept them aren't much more than the few people I've read who've kept multiple wyckiis in communities).

Aronus

Gambusia
MFK Member
Apr 6, 2014
Ohio
All they will say is your tank is to small...I had a 2 foot siler aro that was attacking my two stingrays in a 200 gallon..

moe214

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Oct 13, 2014