Conflicting info on geophagus brasiliensis

Rivers2k

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 27, 2011
NY
Picked up a geophagus brasiliensis. I am fairly new to this type of fish and have read some conflicting info on conspecific aggression and captive adult size. I currently have one in a 75 and am looking at getting a second. I first read they are semi-aggressive when I got my original one and find that to be true but mine is still a juvie. After more reading I read they are actually very aggressive for geophaus and very conspecific aggressive. Also reading adult sizes anywhere from 7-11" and recommended tank size 40 -75 gallon. Wondering what MFKer expierence is.

RD.

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
May 9, 2007
Northwest Canada
The reason that there is conflicting info is due to the fact that there a number of fish that fall under the "brasiliensis-type" complex. G. iporangensis, sp. "Red Bahia", along with numerous aquarium strains.

In order to get proper info, you will need a proper ID. Post some pics and myself or someone else might be able to sort it out for you.

Until then, check this past thread out.

http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/forums/showthread.php?398997-Geophagus-sp-quot-Red-Bahia

Rivers2k

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 27, 2011
NY
That makes allot more sense now. I was looking online I see some fish that are grey and some that are bright yellow with the same name. Mine leans more towards the yellow ones. The fins have the reddish pattern like the first pics in your link. They look exactly like post #39 in that link.

This is mine, He or She (don't know yet) looks a little beat up cause I just got it. I will have it healthy and fattened up in no time. ONly about 2" right now. 20141026_195740.jpg20141026_195531.jpg

20141026_195740.jpg

20141026_195531.jpg

RD.

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
May 9, 2007
Northwest Canada
Sorry, but for myself it's really too small to tell with any certainty what you have.

Empyreal

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2013
Las Vegas, NV