first time alligator gar

agra perera

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 31, 2014
sri lanka
hellow. Im new to monsterfishkeepers.com. and also its my first time keeping a alligator gar.
I have a 3.5'*1.5'*1.5' glass tank in my bed room with some 4" giant freshwater river prawns. And one tank cleaner fish. Im going to buy a 6" alligator gar to put it in the glass tank. My question is will the alligator gar eat the river prawn. And i do know how big these gars get. So i have a bigger 10'*10'*1.5' fishtank to move him in the future. Plz give me some tips to help me keep my ne gator gar.

cnel124

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jun 30, 2013
Bangkok
Yes. Your gar will eat anything that can fit in its mouth. It may even just kill your river prawns.

A 10x10x1.5 sounds ok until the gar gets to be 6 foot (if it does ever reach that size).

I would recommend that you get Tropical gars or somethen, they don't get as big. But if you're dead set on a Alligator, a 10x10x1.5 doesn't sound like a bad place to start, but a little bit more depth maybe like a 2 foot tank would most likely be better in favor of the gar.

fuzzlebug

Candiru
MFK Member
Feb 3, 2014
scotland
Yes. Your gar will eat anything that can fit in its mouth. It may even just kill your river prawns.

A 10x10x1.5 sounds ok until the gar gets to be 6 foot (if it does ever reach that size).

I would recommend that you get Tropical gars or somethen, they don't get as big. But if you're dead set on a Alligator, a 10x10x1.5 doesn't sound like a bad place to start, but a little bit more depth maybe like a 2 foot tank would most likely be better in favor of the gar.
+1
Go with a different gar, Florida or spotted would do better. Or a long nose, they get pretty big(30"+) but not monstrous like alligator gar.

Sent from my Hudl HT7S3 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Bigcatfishrule

Gambusia
MFK Member
Apr 10, 2014
Victoria, Australia