What to use to seal plywood tank?

suds1421

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 18, 2010
Midwest
Hey everyone,

I am planning on building about a 200 gallon plywood tank. I already have the plywood and lumber for a stand... I build storage sheds for a living and have done many construction/home improvement projects. I'm confident I can build an aquarium that will last. I'm planning on a 24" height so going with 3/8" glass.

So my question is this:
How should I seal this bad boy?

I see folks use pond shield, but then you have to install hardiboard.

What's the best, affordable way to seal this up, that will allow me to silicone in my glass?

Thanks so much for the help!

Jim biggs

Feeder Fish
Dec 24, 2014
Narberth pa
I too am going to build a plywood tank. After much research I found that my biggest concern was using a product that would allow me to silicone the glass to it without failing. From what I gathered west systems epoxy will not only allow me to do that. It will also let me apply a final coat of tinted Sweetwater epoxy that also allows silicone adhesion. I am still in the planning stage and have a plate of glass 6 ft by 20 by .5 from my cracked aquarium so I will attempt to do a thread with pics and maybe video when I get started

FishDog

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 2, 2008
B.G. KY
When I built my 750 gallon plywood I put 4 layers of fiberglass with mat in all the joints. I rolled fiberglass resin on side walls for two coats, lightly sanded, then rolled two coats of Sweetwater epoxy on top. Been running for 3 years now with two viewing windows.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

CANAMONSTER

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Dec 5, 2012
Barrie
I have been doing a lot of re search also. Epoxy is tried and true. I am going to use liquid rubber.