Any breeding ideas for a 55 or 75 gallon?

Username.

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 30, 2014
Virginia, US
So I was thinking... what type of fish should I breed? I have a 55 and a 75 gallon and want to breed some kind of cichlid but at the same time make a profit. i can onl use one of the tanks though. My lfs wouldnt mind buying fish from me unless they don't already have many of them. I have a lot of experience cichlid-wise but have never bred them. I was thinking convicts but my lfs often gets overstocked with them. I'm not too picky with price but under $50 for a pair and want to make up for the money I spent on the fish by selling the juvies. I own(ed) and successfully kept a flowerhorn, oscars, dovii, red devils, GT, convicts, firemouths, and some exotic fish such as pbass, arowana, and gar but wouldn't mind owning another (rather have cichlids). Any ideas or tutorials? Thanks.

Rivers2k

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 27, 2011
NY
It would have to be something rare or hard to find. Most cichlid's are easily bred so LFS don't have allot of interest in them. Don't forget you have to have space to raise them for a 8-12 months so they are sizable enough for the LFS to sell them. Its really hard to make money off fish given all the money you have to put into them. Just think If the parent don't cost money why would the fry so you have to put more than $50 up front. I think most people in the hobby have had this thought at one time or another.

If you still want to give a shot I would go with fancy pleco's they are demanding a high price these days. You will have to spend more than $50 your self to get a pair.

Username.

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 30, 2014
Virginia, US
ok, and by the way I have a 30 gal to raise fry in as well. plecos sound great and fun but I'd like to here the opinions of others.

that_fish_Guy

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jul 29, 2013
CA