motoro stingray tankmates?

Username.

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 30, 2014
Virginia, US
I have a 150 5-2-2 with a 4 inch dovii in it. When the dovii gets a little older (big enough to not get eaten) i'm looking into getting a motoro stingray with him? I'm very new to ray keeping so I have no idea if this will work out. Trust me, I know that my dovii will be very aggressive but I'm not sure with a ray. Will they be ok with each other or just forget about it? Thanks.

FishDog

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 2, 2008
B.G. KY
I never kept a dovii but heard stories. Not sure how he will behave with a ray. That is a small footprint so the dovii could claim the whole territory and kill anything in his space. If you get a ray get one and look for a male as they stay smaller. I am not going to say your tank is too small but will say you better have a beefy filtration system that can handle large ammonia spikes. By beefy I am not talking turnover rate or what your filter says it can handle tank wise but I am talking about volume of bio media and added water volume that can add to system volume.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

Username.

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Nov 30, 2014
Virginia, US
haha dont worry, i have 2 fx6s

Keister

Gambusia
MFK Member
Apr 26, 2012
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
haha dont worry, i have 2 fx6s
The two fx6s will be nice but like spot said there really isn't much total water volume with a 150 to handle the ammonia so spikes can really easily happen. The dovii is going to get pretty big for the water volume so imo adding a rays bio load as well could be risky. Will be interesting to hear what others have to say maybe add a sump to enlarge the total water volume.

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

KNH

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Jun 12, 2005
OH...IO