Help me out with this cloudy water question would ya kindly?

So I set up a new 65, well not new, I had drained a tank and let it sit for 2 weeks with the gravel in it empty, with trumpet snails in the gravel (I tried to get some out). I refilled her, added 2 penguin 280s with full of biomax and floss (one with a carbon bag), and a AC 75 full of biomax and floss. Used a bio wheel or two from an established tank, let it sit for a week, then added two orandas. Light feeding, with daily water changes since. Its been about 3 weeks now, and I can't get the water to clear. Its milky soon after each water change.

I'm assuming the cycle was never finished, and its recycling daily?

Do I do less water changes?

At first it smelled a bit funky, i'm thinking the snails died off during the no water period?

Any thoughts?

By the way, i have 33 years experience so this isn't my first rodeo.

I have a terrible memory, so im sure this is happened before, but to my best recollection the cloudiness of a cycle has never lasted this long.

I'm thinking im getting constant mini-cycles? How do I stop them?

pacu mom

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jun 8, 2006
northern CA
Easy enough to tell if you have a cycling issue--what are your water parameters? If you let the tank sit for a week with no ammonia source, it is possible that the beneficial bacteria in the established media died off. If there is measurable amounts of ammonia and/or nitrite, I'd add more established media ASAP and consider using a bacterial additive of some kind. It is very easy to get a bacterial bloom in an uncycled tank....cloudy stinky water can be signs of a bloom.

I would suggest just waiting it out. I know it's an eyesore, but …
I will do that... the fish seem fine but it looks awful!! Milky white...I'm a stickler for clear water.