4" Alligator Gar Info

Moois232

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Dec 13, 2014
Pennsylvania
Hello, I am new to MFK and was wondering if anyone had any interesting experiences with alligator gars. I recently bought one at about 4". If anyone had info on their growth rates and feeding habits it would be greatly appreciated if you shared. I know they are supposed to have unbelievable growth rates, but what is a more average growth rate? Thanks.

Sent from my iPad using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

cachacase1

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 8, 2014
lowell ma
I seen one that was 2 feet in length once at dicks sporting in nc.

They're nice looking fis though.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

predatorkeeper87

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2014
pennsylvania
if its a true alligator gar, they eat EVERYTHING and grow fast, so be prepared. You are talking about a fish that will reach 6 feet in length under good conditions.
I'm unfamiliar with a specific rate at which they grow but my general rule of thumb is if its a monster fish in the making expect 2-3 inches a month at least.

So unless you are prepared for that lets hope you purchased a florida gar that was labeled gator gar as they often are lol. Post some pics!

fuzzlebug

Candiru
MFK Member
Feb 3, 2014
scotland
if its a true alligator gar, they eat EVERYTHING and grow fast, so be prepared. You are talking about a fish that will reach 6 feet in length under good conditions.
I'm unfamiliar with a specific rate at which they grow but my general rule of thumb is if its a monster fish in the making expect 2-3 inches a month at least.

So unless you are prepared for that lets hope you purchased a florida gar that was labeled gator gar as they often are lol. Post some pics!