Best Monster Fish

Moois232

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Dec 13, 2014
Pennsylvania
Hello, I am thinking about setting up a grow out tank of about 180 gallons or so (I'm looking to buy a tank so I'm assuming that's a good grow out size.) What are the absolute best monster fish you guys can think of based off experience or what you've heard? I've kept several monster fish before, so I have some experience. Any suggestions as to what fish or several fish would be good choices? Thanks.

Sent from my iPad using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

ktrom13

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 14, 2014
massachusetts
I've never kept any real monsters. But from what I've read it seems like not much can compete with piranhas.

If your looking at cichlids it seems that Jaguars are a good "bang for the buck". What kinds of fish are you looking for?

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

Moois232

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Dec 13, 2014
Pennsylvania
I was leaning more towards Amazonian fish. Maybe like an Amazon community tank with peacock bass and such or even like a prehistoric tank with bichirs and catfish? I have no clue just thought I'd see what everyone's favorite monster fish were. Thanks.

h0ckeyfreek20

Candiru
MFK Member
May 22, 2012
NJ
Hello, I am thinking about setting up a grow out tank of about 180 gallons or so (I'm looking to buy a tank so I'm assuming that's a good grow out size.) What are the absolute best monster fish you guys can think of based off experience or what you've heard? I've kept several monster fish before, so I have some experience. Any suggestions as to what fish or several fish would be good choices? Thanks.

Your stock of monster fish will largely depend on the size tank you ultimately have.

With a 180 grow-out, what size are you looking to upgrade to?

Vanica

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2014
Alberta, Canada