Filtration, Lighting,Substrate Help

Silversamps85

Gambusia
MFK Member
Dec 28, 2014
New York
Well that seems like a lot of help, I am in need of it! I am new hear and I posted in the intro section earlier today. I hope this is in the correct section. I am not new to this hobby I am just new to this scale. As I said in my previous post my wife and I are currently purchasing our dream home and there is a great opportunity to install a large tank. The dimensions are 4Hx4Lx3W. These dimensions are close but could change slightly once the construction starts. My questions when going to a tank of this size starts with lighting. This tank will be a see through room divider style that is between to levels of the living space. When on the top level the lid will be at around 4 ft so it will need a finished lid that matches the surrounding wood work. To keep this post shorter I will try to stick to the immediate questions that will effect the Framing/ finish work for the tank. First off Species, as of now we are looking at peacock bass, arowana, possible Oscars something along those lines. My concern with the lighting is the depth. Is 4ft to deep to light easily? Second is filtration, I really don't have a clue with this size tank and the messy eaters we are talking about putting in the tank. My concerns are noise due to its location in the living space. The location and access also concerns me with water changes, that is why I was thinking of using a drip system. The next thing on the list is appearance, my wife does not like a bare bottom tank, what options do we have for ease of maintenance and practicality with the species we are looking at? Another thought is if these species are just to crazy to have in a tank like she wants should we go a different direction completely with the species and go to a more communal tank with who knows what type of schooling pretty fish? I will leave it at this for now, kind of all over the place. I have lots of questions going through my h