wet/dry sump pump recommendation

Jphann

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 19, 2014
San Jose , ca
I just order a wet/dry sump kit thags for a 300gal tank for ky 240gal tank and it requires me to purchase the pump. Im new to this all and was wondering what you guys would recommend me to get for a pump. I was thinking of getting this since the peice and heard some people were using itl eheim 5000 or something like that was rated for 1320gph

Lepisosteus

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
May 20, 2014
Ontario, Canada
I would get a DC adjustable foe pump of a fairly high rating so if you ever choose to upgrade your pump will still be good

mudbuttjones

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Jul 29, 2014
Wisconsin
There's a few things to consider.

Is the tank drilled?
How many holes does it have?
How many overflow boxes does it have?
How tall is it from the sump to the top of the tank?

basically pumps put out less water the higher the plumbing is relative to the pump. Thats called head pressure.
Almost all pumps have a flow curve that'll show you what you put out at certain heights. You want to shop based on those #'s.

You want to shoot for a turnover rate of 5-10x per Hour, the more the Better Generally speaking.

Its always good to get a pump that's more than what you need than one that's not powerful enough. You can always tee off a powerful pump and redirect some flow back to the sump (regulated by a ball or gate valve)

There are alot of pumps out there, the DC pumps are a good option, so are Eheim pumps. You'll generally have to spend alot of money on a pump to get something thats quiet, energy efficient, reliable and powerful. There's alot of good info on this site. I personally like Danner Magdrive pumps, they have alot of detractors in the hobby but I like them because they are inexpensive and powerful. Not too good on electricity, and slightly noisy.