New member from Northeast Nevada

Mark Allred

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 23, 2015
Spring Creek, Nevada
I am looking forward to being a part of this group. From what I can see it looks dedicated, informed and congenial crowd! :)
I have been keeping fish for 46 years now, and have kept a wide variety of freshwater fish. I did bail from the hobby from 2005-2010.
Cichlids have always been my favorites, due to their intelligence and looks!
A few different times I have decided to go Saltwater.
Bought a bunch of books, and researched enough to where I was comfortable in doing that.
I would head into the city to buy a big tank to get started, spot some cichlids I liked, and go home with a big tank of cichlids!:naughty:
Since I got into the planted aquarium thing, salts don't even interest me anymore.
Presently I have a 125 gallon, heavily planted mostly Angelfish tank, a heavily planted 65 High,
a heavily planted 29 populated with L183 Starlights, and a few Apistos, and Neon tetras.
These three tanks all are running home built LED lighting. The 125 and 65 run wet/dry and CO2 injection.
I just setup a 40B to grow out some Angelfish I just received from a couple of well known breeders.
I have a 10 gallon I am growing out some baby Ancistrus in.
What brought me to this group was a Google link to the "The use of Probiotics in Aquaculture" thread.
After pulling a huge Echinodorus bleheri out of my 125, I apparently roused the demon in the form of pathogenic bacteria.
I lost 5 prized adult Angelfish in 4-5 days. It sucked.
So now I am doing tons of research on probiotics, competitive exclusion, waste control bacteria, pathogens, etc.

I have long been that "do frequent water changes" and "additives are unnecessary" guy. I am changing my tune.
Just when you think you know it all, you find you don't!

Hope I haven't bored someone to tears here :)

kno4te

MFK Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Dec 24, 2005
USA

Red Devil

Nice to meet you and welcome to MFK