Question on applying PondShield and fiberglass.

raven2014

Feeder Fish
Mar 5, 2015
Denver
Hello everyone,

I just finished assembling the shell of a 180g plywood tank, I'll be making the support and bracing tomorrow and then moving on applying the sealant on the next day. For the sealant I'm using:

- PondShield for the epoxy.
- Elmer Fiberglass mat: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000GUKENC/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
- Bondo Fiberglass cloth: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Bondo-8-sq-ft-Fiberglass-Cloth-20128/202077813

Since this is my first build I'm going to go with the extra safe route of using the fiberglass on the entire tank: the Elmer mat on the corner seams and the Bondo to cover the bottom and walls. I'm pretty sure the Elmer will work fine, but anyone know if the Bondo will work with this set up?

On PondShield itself I have research as much as I can about how to use it and at this point I think I have read and watch all the existing material on it (I literally spent 2 months researching before starting this build). Still I have a few question to be "extra" sure that I understand what I read and watched, or things I'm not clear about? (Like I said, this is my first built so please excuse the paranoid). So far I had learnt:

- Put the PondShield's container in hot water to make it easier to use.

- It's best to apply a wash as the first coat: the recipe is 2 part epoxy, 1 part hardener and 2 part alcohol. Question: most material seem to suggest doing this with a paint brush instead of a roller, is there a reason for this? And can I use a roller for this?