Are Indo Tiger dats not....

BostonPatriot

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2005
boston
as desirable as other dats? I see alot of posts about "thin bar" and "wide bar" dats. Are the Indo Tiger dats like what the red oscar is to the oscar world? I am just curious because I am new to keeping dats and don't really know what people look for in judging a dat. Do Indos look as good as the others when they get larger? Also what would a 8"-10" indo sell for?
I think they are a great fish looks and personality wise. They are just so rare around this area that local pet shops don't seem to know that much about them.

cuban jey

"tha movement you bastards"
MFK Member
Aug 11, 2005
Tampa Bay
from what ive seen indos are the more common sp. of dats and i heard they lose their gold color as they get older im guessing they get more "dirty" looking and widebars stay having bright colors throughout their whole life i dont know much about thinbars and never seen a pic of a adult one but ive seen a huge indo once in person and it was dirty/muddy looking but every dat ive had are always constantly changing colors im thinking it has to do with moods or feelings? hopefully someone with more knowledge will help us out some more bro cause i too have a indo dat hes about 3-4in. now growing out in a 55 with a jardini and hes as gold as ever hes even bossing around my jardini wich is twice his size :grinyes:

Steve_89

NISMO
MFK Member
Mar 30, 2005
?
Indos generally do not show the nice stable gold coloration of the wide bar.

I beleive wide bars are also rarer.

I love my big indo though, still has a great personality and occasionally shows nice golds.

blacktip

Fire Eel
MFK Member
May 22, 2005
Cali