baby dats eating

rone

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 10, 2007
nova scotia
i did some reading on this site. im new to datnoids. but anyways. i see people have a hard time gettin them off live feed... well i bought my 2 dats yesterday. my buddy who is the manager at the LFS said that he had them on white clowd minows... so i bought some minows and took the dats home... the dats went crazy on the minows. really cool how they hunt... but then today i thought well lets atleast try the dry blood worms and cichlid pellets... and sure enough. they chowd on them... they love pellets and dried blood worm. isnt that cool.
im really starting to like the datnoid... mine are at all sketchy and come up to me when ever i come up to the tank.. there currently in a 30 gal tank
also i red that some dats need brackish water?
im not sure what kind mine are. they were labled tiger datnoids. for 30$ each
i will post pics when i take some

milkman407

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jul 15, 2006
in a house
:) welcome to the world of dats, i've never had trouble with my smaller ones but it takes some starving to get the big guys off live. I just lost 12 3" datnoids :( I miss them. any pics of yours?

KenyanSandBoa

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 20, 2007
Massachusetts
Congrats on the new purchase...now the collecting begins.:nilly:

You don't have to keep your dats in brackish...they will be fine in freshwater.

That's good that they are eating prepared foods already...that will be much less work for you in the future. You can give krill and market shrimp a try too...my guys go NUTS over that.

rone

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 10, 2007
nova scotia
u mean like frozen raw shrimp... like what i fed my piranhas

rone

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 10, 2007
nova scotia
so how many juvies do yas think i can keep in a planted 120 gal tank?
10 or so?

KenyanSandBoa

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 20, 2007
Massachusetts
rone;1123965; said:
u mean like frozen raw shrimp... like what i fed my piranhas