Mopani wood

tonymofo

Piranha
MFK Member
May 23, 2007
Detroit
www.youtube.com
Has anyone used this wood. The directions say to soak for a couple weeks, well I have been letting this large piece of wood soak for two months and it is still turning the water dark brown. I have been changing the water every 3 days. What should I do????

joey02

Plecostomus
MFK Member
May 22, 2007
Canada
thekingofdiy.com
boil it if you can, or boil the water befor you put it in the bucket and change the water more often. when i prepar driftwood, i change the water 3 times a day with very hot or boiled water. this speeds it up alot. make sure to scrub it also. after all this i still found it to leach small amounts of tannins into the water, so i eventually switched to malaysian drift wood. i only had to prepare that for 4 for days and then it was fine. plus its half the cost of mopani and seems to look more natual as it is all one colour.

ShadowBass

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 13, 2007
Poplar Bluff, MO
joey020283;1126000; said:
boil it if you can, or boil the water befor you put it in the bucket and change the water more often. when i prepar driftwood, i change the water 3 times a day with very hot or boiled water. this speeds it up alot. make sure to scrub it also. after all this i still found it to leach small amounts of tannins into the water, so i eventually switched to malaysian drift wood. i only had to prepare that for 4 for days and then it was fine. plus its half the cost of mopani and seems to look more natual as it is all one colour.
I've had the same experience with mopani as malaysian, even after boiling either one. Big piece of malaysian I just put in my 90g without doing anything to it and the water didn't really get much of a brown tint. The little piece of malaysian I put in my 10g I boiled for a long time and it still turns the water brown. I think maybe the individual piece of wood has some to do with how bad it is.