worms in vent

CHOMPERS

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Apr 28, 2006
Sunnyvale Trailer Park
I have been waiting for my pregnant molly to have her second batch of babies for a long time. Her mate died well over a month ago and that got me thinking that this has to be the worlds longest molly pregnancy. Still she keeps getting bigger and bigger. Last night I noticed her vent was open and what looked like a worm was hanging out. I have noticed her vent open before and just figured it was time...just no babies. Today I looked at her again and she has a worm trailing out of her and a knot of worms plugging her vent. They are red or almost brick red, but there are not any red worms at the bottom of the tank. She is in a bare bottom ten gallon tank.

What (if any) is the treatment for internal parasites or worms. Anyone hear of this before. It is my first time with these.

I have an infestation of white thread like worms in the substrate that everyone has said are harmless. There are white worms in the nursery tank, but it is also plumbed in with the other tanks so I can not say that they came from her.

AquataHolic420

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Sep 20, 2006
Neeeew Hampshaaa
ok sounds wierd, and my answer may even sound worse..

IT prolly will be cheaper to give her the Spacious septic system living quarters, and just buy a new pair... sorry to hear such bad news... and STOP LOOKIN AT FISH VENTS U PERVE! haha jk:ROFL:

davo

Aimara
MFK Member
Jan 9, 2006
England
yea, that isnt an uncommon problem. try googling camallanus worms or Callanus nematodes? Piperazine i think can help. may be a start, im not sure on all the different worm parasites

AquataHolic420

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Sep 20, 2006
Neeeew Hampshaaa
davo;572243; said:
yea, that isnt an uncommon problem. try googling camallanus worms or Callanus nematodes? Piperazine i think can help. may be a start, im not sure on all the different worm parasites