172 Gallon Marine Predator Build

kamikaze483

Feeder Fish
May 23, 2016
I decided to try something new. I bought the brand new Red Sea S-650 reef system. It's cycling now with proper parameters. I have just now added some zoas to the LR. I am going to try to turn this into a predator reef. I'm of the belief that most of the predator fish that are not "reef safe" will simply eat the inverts and prevent you from having a CuC.

This is what I am planning to add.

Volitans
Porcupine Puffer
Miniatus Grouper
Tessalata Eel
Chevron Tang
Dogface Puffer
Naso Tang
Harlequin Tusk

My theory is that none of these will nibble on my coral. If, perhaps they do, my hypothesis is that they will only bother certain ones. If I can figure out which ones they leave alone, I think I can have a gorgeous Predator reef. I have about 4 years experience. I have an older tank with a mandarin dragonet, a couple of batfish, and a moorish idol, all of which are over two years old.

Please don't tell me the tank is too small. I have enough experience to know I am fine with 172 gallons here.

Planning to add the volitan first and the eel last- everything essentially the same size except the eel which will be smaller.

Anybody see any problems with this list? Will any of them end up tearing up my reef? Will they all kill each other? Other than first and last, does it make any difference with the others in terms of order?

Thanks.

stempy

Dovii
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2011
Galloway, OH
Please don't tell me the tank is too small. I have enough experience to know I am fine with 172 gallons here.

That's where I stopped. A naso in a 5' tank. Those fish at adulthood will polute that tank to the 5th degree. Most of those will produce a ton of waste overloading that modest filtration system on those.

Fat Homer

Mmmmm... Doughnuts
Staff member
MFK Member
Mar 16, 2009
----
Just the porcpine puffer will easily need a 300G+ when mature, let alone the eels and everything else...

predatorkeeper87

Potamotrygon