75 gal stocking help please

Justmick

Exodon
MFK Member
Jul 18, 2016
sacramento ca
Hi all,
I am setting up a new tank... This is my first attempt at fish keeping so I need a little advice on how best to stock it correctly..
I have a 75 gal tank that I have just finished cycling and am now getting ready to put fish in.( cycled with fish.. Still alive and from what I can see still healthy☺)
I am going to put peacocks in it but have not decided if I am doing an all male or a male\female tank. I also need help with the stocking rate(how many at a time should I add). Any thoughts or suggestions 20160719_185037.jpg

fishfanatic80

Piranha
MFK Member
Feb 7, 2011
Long island
Generally people try to get all male peacocks for their colors and the females color can be rather bland but if you wanted to do a mixed lot it's completely up to you. What are your intentions with the tank? Is your goal to breed fish or are you just looking to keep the best looking fish you can in your display? I'd add 3 or 4 peacocks in the tank at a time and gradually build up the numbers. With a newly established tank you can upset the balance of beneficial bacteria to fish easily so adding a little at a time will guarantee everything runs smoothly

Justmick

Exodon
MFK Member
Jul 18, 2016
sacramento ca
Generally people try to get all male peacocks for their colors and the females color can be rather bland but if you wanted to do a mixed lot it's completely up to you. What are your intentions with the tank? Is your goal to breed fish or are you just looking to keep the best looking fish you can in your display? I'd add 3 or 4 peacocks in the tank at a time and gradually build up the numbers. With a newly established tank you can upset the balance of beneficial bacteria to fish easily so adding a little at a time will guarantee everything runs smoothly