8x4x3 Plywood/Pondliner/Acrylic Tank

EighthNotch

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 21, 2016
So I'm in the planning stages of my first plywood tank and would like your comments, ideas, and advice. I've never put a tank together before but I've built stands for larger tanks etc. and I'm confident with this project. This is my first build so I'd like to keep it inexpensive.

I've seen a build on here that was glued and screwed with the same dimensions with no additional external support, he epoxied the inside, fiberglassed the seams, and it's been up and running now for a while. My version is using extra strips of plywood around the perimeter glued & screwed into place, and overlapping the seams on the corners for additional strength.

I plan on using 3/4" plywood, EPDM pond liner, and a 2x4 foot acrylic viewing window unless I can find something longer for around the same price, 2x6 would be great. The acrylic will be 3/4" and drilled every 2 inches. Pond liner is laid in to the tank, followed by the acrylic window and then using flat-headed, stain steel self-tapping screws (maybe with washers?) I'll screw the acrylic window through the pond liner and into the plywood to hold it in place. I'll probably use 3M 5200 as the gasket and coat each screw and fill each hole with 5200 before screwing in. In my half-assed google sketch drawing you can see I'll have a frame doubled up around the viewing window so the SS screws can bite into it. This acrylic/screw method has been used on plywood koi tanks on other forums with success. It'll look a lot nicer than running bolts through it.