a pond recovers

id10t

Candiru
MFK Member
Jun 3, 2005
There is a pond in town (has some local history associated with the local university dating back to the early 1900s), I started riding my bike there and fishing when I was 4. My parents bought a house on it when I was 6, my mother still lives there. When full to the rim, it is about 4 acres. and 15 feet deep in the middle. Not a lot of cover along 1/2 the bank, the rest is a section of reeds and a patch of cypress.

Record bass caught in '78 was 14lbs 13oz on a certified scale. I've caught 20 or so between 8 and 10lbs over the years, and have seen others do the same.

In the late 80s, the pond "turned over" and all the big fish died - hundreds of bass over 4lbs or so, belly up. Of course, when they started decaying the water got bad and took out some of the bigger bluegills, and most of the crappie. The pond recovered.

The 90s started a dry spell - incredible heat, and without the massive flooding rains of summer. The pond shrank. We'd finally get some rain, or a close brush with the remnants of a tropical storm, and the pond recovers.

Again, we had a massive fish kill, not nearly as many big fish as the first, and the buzzards feasted. The pond recovered - barely.

Into the 2000s, the pond got smaller and smaller. Could still catch fish, but the crappie were gone as were the catfish. The bluegills were stunted.

The winter weather pattern changed, no longer a massive rain every week followed by cold clear crisp days, only to cloud up and rain again the next week.

In 2005, we got 2 hurricanes. Mom's dock was destroyed (3rd time), not to be rebuilt. The pond water level was back to where it was in the 70s.

The summers and winters got drier and drier.

In 2010, the pond nearly disappeared. A big mud bog, with a little bit of water in the middle. The pond was on its last legs.