Beginner in planted aquarium

Steven Williams

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jun 9, 2015
I'm new at planted aquariums and I kinda just want some plants to help liven up my tank. I've tried before but my lights were just sucky hood lights so that really didn't work. My current aquarium has decent lighting so I thought I'd give it a shot. Its a 150 gal with a 125 fluval canister filter and a 55 gal marineland canister filter with 2 LED white and blue light marineland strip lights (possibly for reefs) that are 24" each.
My setup is:
x1 Silver Arowana ~20"
x1 Jack Dempsey cichlid 8"
x5 Angelfish 3-5"
x1 Parrot cichlid 7"
Botht the cichlids don't dig so I doubt they will disturb the plants. The Angelfish are well fed but I heard they can eat live plants too. I currently don't have a bottom feeder but it would help if someone could recommend one that doesn't eat plants. I also am getting an undergravel filter (will that deprive the live plants of nutrients from the fish waste?) The arowana produces LOTS of waste. I was just wondering if live plants would work and if so can anyone recommend the hardier species?

IMG_5838.JPG

IMG_5839.JPG

IMG_5840.JPG

convict360

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 9, 2013
Scotland
I'd recommend rhizome plants like ferns and anubias, but these may not do so well if your lighting is especially intense.

Steven Williams

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jun 9, 2015
I'd recommend rhizome plants like ferns and anubias, but these may not do so well if your lighting is especially intense.
Well the lights aren't on all the time probably like 4 hours during the day most
What about the under gravel would that affect growth?

skjl47

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
May 16, 2011
Tennessee
55 gallon jan 2016 013.JPG
Hello; this picture in of a planted tank with UGF's running for over a year.

The Angelfish are well fed but I heard they
can eat
live plants too.