Bristlenose fry

MoNsTeR FiS

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
May 5, 2014
USA
Hi, this is my first time spawning plecos so i am new to this and have many questions.
I have a 29 gallon with 2 male brislenose plecos, 3 female brislenose plecos, and 2 silver angle fish. (the plecos are about 4 inches). There are 3 slate caves in there and it is 78 dergrees farenhight.
The day before yesterday when i got home there was a pleco that was wedged in a cave and would not come out to eat. I shined a flashlight into the cave and there was 75 eggs and a pleco in the cave. I put the cave with the male pleco and eggs, in a box floating in the tank late last night and when i woke up today the box (because of the slate cave) has sunk, so i took the box out and put the cave back where it was. After school i shined a flashlight in the cave and saw empty eggshells, and some eggs that had not hatched yet.
Should i take the eggs out of the cave so when they leave the cave the other plecos don't eat them or should i just let them be? Thanks

Garshark

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Mar 2, 2012
Ohio
Leave the fish alone. By moving the cave with the eggs and male your adding stress. Just leave the cave where it is and let the male do its job of fanning the eggs. Some of the fry might be bothered by the angle fish

Reactions: Rob909

Pacmule

Feeder Fish
Jun 4, 2019
I have a breeding pair of Plecos and dad is in the cave fanning but there was also a clump of eggs outside the cave. Can these be hatched if placed in a hospital near the pump output flow to mimic fanning? Thanks

Rob909

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2018
Fontana, CA
I have a breeding pair of Plecos and dad is in the cave fanning but there was also a clump of eggs outside the cave. Can these be hatched if placed in a hospital near the pump output flow to mimic fanning? Thanks
If eggs fall out of the cave and are still healthy, you can place them in an egg tumbler. I made mine from an air line and a scrap syphon tube. (The wider end)