DIY filtration

Fishysocks2013

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 21, 2016
Hello all,
I apologize as I am sure if I searched long enoughi would be able to find this information, but I don't have much time to do research. I am wanting to get back into fish keeping, and I would like to make my filtration system myself. I want to make a canister setup. I am not sure about the exact size of the tank I am getting, or the fish I will be keeping, but I have enough of an idea to start gettiny plans ready for this project. I want my tank to be between 100 and 150 gallons, and I would like to flow at least five times the contents of the tank per hour. So, around ,5-700 gpm. The setup must be relatively quiet, and I would like to make it easy enough to perform maintenance and cleaning without much difficulty. I am a mechanic by trade, so I'm sure I can pull it off, but I'd just like some insight from those who have done this themselves. Any links to write ups would also be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

JK47

Retired MFK Admin
MFK Member
Aug 4, 2008
Washington
For that flow rate and maintenance goal you should be targeting a DIY sump in my opinion. They can be silent, cheap and handle flow rates as you describe rather easily. DIY canisters have a tendency to leak if not done just right. I also (my personal belief) feel that they are harder to clean than a sump.

JK47

Retired MFK Admin
MFK Member
Aug 4, 2008
Washington
I'm open to this idea. Do you know of any links with write ups on this?
I'm on mobile at the moment (vacation week) so I don't have any handy. The options are endless. It all comes down to what you want your sump to do. Some are so simple it's just a used CL tank with no baffles or anythinganything fancy. Just socks, media and submerged pump.

Fishysocks2013

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 21, 2016