Fail-Safe Lures

Frank Castle

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jan 10, 2016
Pennsylvannia
I have had lures I have been using for over 30 years because they seem like they ALWAYS produce fish, even when nothing else seems to be working and I make sure I never leave home without them. I know everything pertains to location, species, water clarity, natural diet/local fauna/microfauna , etc etc, but WHICH lures do you guys swear by and never leave home without because they always seem to make things happen for you????

I will begin with a few of my favorites and most effective colors for my area:

#1 - Rebel's Crickhopper, Fire-tiger, Chartruese-mix, Natural or Yellow
***** a floater-diver which can be twitched, slow or fast retrieved and worked in practically any way you like. Small enough for Panfish but erratic and intriguing enough to attract the larger fish, especially Trout and Smallmouths. A highly versatile lure diving to about 3-5' , but can be worked through the shallowest riffles because of it's low-profile and it floats so it always returns to the surface if you stop a retrieve.

#1 - Rebel's Teeny-wee Crawfish, Natural
***** By FAR, the deadliest lure I ever owned for Smallmouths, since I 1st started using this lure in the late 1980's I have credited over a 1,000 fish to this lure/color. Tied for the top spot w/ the Crickhopper, and most of the same information pertains, the Crawfish weighs about a 1/16 oz heavier and comes w/ slightly larger trebles which I will replace w/ size #14 for Trout and leave the default hooks for other fish. Anyone who owns one already knows the hype.

#2 - Yakima/Worden's Roostertail, color pertains to season, all colors effective