Internal overflow placement and drain/return size question

jaws7777

Probation Member
Probation Member
Mar 1, 2014
White house 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington
Does it matter where you place internal overflows ? Im thinking ovetflows located at the corners of the tank would be allow easier access to adjust the stand pipes and mess with the water level in the over flow....thoughts ?

Two questions about drain and return holes.

1)Why is the return pipe/hole smaller than the drain pipes/holes.
Say i am going with 1.5 inch drains do i go with 1 inch returns or 1.5 inches ? And why ?

2) been talking to a couple of tank builders probably sound like an idiot cuz im new to this type of filtration but when im talking about the size of the holes i want drilled should i be telling them that i want to use 1.5 inch plumbing/bulkheads instead of telling them i want 1.5 inch drains ? If they drill 1.5 inch holes then im not gonna be able to use 1.5inch plumbing/bulkheads.

Or am i yet again overthinking this and they know what i mean ?

ragin_cajun

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2013
South Louisiana
#2 -- Uhhhh.....I don't know, never thought about it. I told Midwest "I want 2 inch drains". They just drilled whatever hole size that needs to be -- they just know. When I ordered bulkheads from glass-holes.com, I said "2 inch bulkheads". They fit, 2 inch PVC went in the bulkhead. No problem.

But, you're right--a "2 inch bulkhead" means a bulkhead that accomdates 2 inch pipe. so the hole you drill for that bulkhead is definitely bigger than 2 inches. I don't know what size that hole is, though. look at the glass hole cutters on glass-holes.com.

jaws7777

Probation Member
Probation Member
Mar 1, 2014
Tjx ragin. I thougjt chris mentioned the bulkheads where inclded. Any reason you purchased yours from glass-holes ?

I thinkni found the answer to number 1 on the gmacreef link you sent me.