My idea for an outside saltwater pond

RooRocks

Feeder Fish
Sep 11, 2012
Alta Loma, CA
New here but I found this forum while doing a lot of reasearch on my new project. I am not new to saltwater aquariums as I have been keeping reef tanks for 14 years but now I am trying to plan my dream build, 1100g outside saltwater pond. I do not think I will be turning into a reef, more of a fish only with a small shark ~2ft.

Here is the area I am planning on putting it:

I would be removing the BBQ and table and pretty much all the concrete, the tank would be in the middle of concrete level witht he ground:

As far as equipment I was going to treat this like I have treated my reef tanks, 300-400gallon sump, big skimmer with lots of biological filtration. I would fill the sump and tank with roughly 1000lbs+ of rock with the plans of having a mangrove/fuge section in the tank inself.

As far as heating this is where I am lost, obviously I do not want to run 6000w of heaters all winter so what are people doing for heat in their outside ponds?

Cooling will not be an issue as I am sure I can keep this under control with big fans blowing on the surface of the sump.

I would run a large UV system, 120w or bigger

I would look into running ozone as well, it will help keep the water clean and parasite free.

As far as stocking I would keep it large angels, puffers and tangs. I would like to add a shark but after doing a lot of research on here and other forums I think I would liek to stay away.

For covering I would use the latice cover that is there and maybe do tinted shields mounted to the top to retract some of the light, heat and rain.

Evaporation, I'll lose a lot due to this but it's not a big deal as I'll have a auto top off setup in the sump to compensate for it.