My Wels Catfish (silurus glanis) albino

that_fish_Guy

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jul 29, 2013
CA
Just got a wels catfish from Wes. I hear that they may be banned and this may be one of the last batches he gets...couldnt pass it up,had to get one...yeah....I know how big they get, I am not a novice...but I am crazy. My plans for this fish are to grow him out in a 110 until he gets enough size on him to then go into a 340 and keep moving him up from there most likely he will then go into a pentar 96x48x30 I believe it is? ...I have put all other plans on hold for this guy. I plan to start working on some ideas to get a large acrylic tank going for him (my biggest build yet) if all else fails I do have a 12 foot diameter intex pool I have used for other monsters in the past if the large acrylic tank isn't done by then (plan to have it done though) I estimate he can be in the 340 for maybe a year give or take as I understand that they don't grow quite as fast as an RTC would. Anyways... Will discuss all those plans when the time comes...here he is. Thanks to Wes of Rare Fish for hooking me up with one of my dream fish. He is already eating Massivore lol.(very interested in me already)

20160715_075447.jpg
20160715_074924.jpg

Hendre

Bawitius
Staff member
MFK Member
Jan 14, 2016
South Africa
wow man. you could end up with a real monster there.
hopefully they dont get this big in aquariums, maybe 4 or 5 feet?

Reactions: wednesday13

that_fish_Guy

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Jul 29, 2013
CA
tlindsey tlindsey yep yep....and Hendre Hendre I would say if I'm lucky he can get maybe 5-8 foot in captivity not sure at all but I am planning for it to get huge that way if it does only get 4 foot at least I planned for a much larger footprint for a larger fish... Wednesday13 has had his quite a long time and I believe its 40 some odd inches.

Reactions: celebrist

Hendre

Bawitius
Staff member
MFK Member
Jan 14, 2016
South Africa