Need some help on sump plumbing for 240 - with pics

Jordan

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 9, 2005
Morgantown, WV
I picked up a used acrylic stand off CL. It is 3/4" thick acrylic and the measurements are 72"x30" x30". However, the overflow is the entire back of the tank and takes up 5" of depth. The tank was previously drilled with 5 holes. 3 still have bulkheads and the other 2 were plugged to test fill. I'm having a hard time deciding how to plumb it. I have never done a sump before so I'm new to this. Do I use the bottom two empty holes for the drain and the top 3 holes with bulkheads for the return? How would you plumb this? Use two top holes for drain and one top hole for return and plug the two lower ones? Any help appreciated, as this is my first tank over 75 gallons and not using canisters as filtration. I have some time to plan it out as I am currently sanding out scratches and still need to build a stand. Here are some pics and thanks for the help.

ragin_cajun

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2013
South Louisiana
Sounds to me like you have a coast-to-coast overflow drilled with 3,drains and 2 returns--called a "beanimal" setup. You'd have 2 main drains running at full siphon and a 3rd emergency drain. Then 2 return lines that run to 2 pumps in the sump. Dead quiet. I've never done a beanimal myself, but I've seen plenty of videos and articles on the Internet.

Reactions: TripleW

Stang725

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 11, 2015
Austin, Tx
I can link some pics of my recent 240 set up that I am finishing up now. I have dual built-in corner overflows with 2-drains in the bottom of each.

I ended up connecting them together via a 1" pvc line inside the tank that goes into bulkheads drilled into the side of each overflow for equalizing levels.

I run:

Right overflow: