New to canister filters

fishkeeper01

Gambusia
MFK Member
Jan 15, 2014
Hawaii
Hi all, so I've been looking into canister filters as I've been hearing how good they are. I've never used one before, but i.would like to look into it. My question is what are the betterror brands of canisters that give you the most bang for your buck. And also how do you go about doing filter media in those baskets?

Benno87

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jun 20, 2015
Australia
Eheim and fluval seem to get good reports and pretty reliable but are generally pricy. Have heard people on here talking out some of the cheaper Chinese models being pretty decent though. As far as media goes I run my baskets each with half ceramic noodles or Seachem matrix and half sponge(course in lower baskets, fine in upper baskets)if that helps. I tend to fill them up with extra media as wel as what they come with. Then it's just a matter of matching the right sized filter to your tank size.

kno4te

MFK Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Dec 24, 2005
USA
Eheim is the better for reliability and quality. A lot of members here will for sure recommend it. For my ark I have a sun sun, Chinese model, like benno mentioned. It's all about the price point for the sun sun. I also have ceramic media, seachem matrix and filter floss in there for my mech and bio filtration. The baskets will about 3 let's say and u can decide what goes in them. But the very bottom will have the filter and above will be media. Still got to do ur wc maintenance for your tank. The canister is in addition to it.

Reactions: boldtogether

xraycer

Arapaima
MFK Member
Sep 5, 2013
Southern NH USA
Canisters are not exactly better than say a hang on top(HOB). Canisters have their pros and cons. Pros: they are cleaner profile since they can be hidden and allow the tank to be closer against a wall; hold more media. Cons: much more effort to clean out; more leakag/flooding potential.