New to Planted

JohnTr

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Sep 16, 2015
Hi everyone, I'm new to the planted tank. Mostly of my fish keeping time is monster fish. And now, my gf asked me about a planted tank for her office. I have couple questions. Where do you buy equipment, lights, co2,....ect? and Where do you buy plant, fish, and snail? for the good-price and quality.
Thank a lot.
JohnTr

Deadliestviper7

The Necromancer
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2016
Look online and on Craigslist for good deals on equipment, most snails are best wild collected, a good exotic petstorecontains a lot of the good fishes, look up some in your area, I'll let the plant geeks tell u where to buy plants. Have u thought about native fish for your tank such as orange throat and green stripe darters, studfish,Redfin shiners etc in a long flow tank.

Deadliestviper7

The Necromancer
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2016
Pond snails, Amano shrimp, vampire shrimp and bamboo shrimp , native mussels and microcrabs might be good additions, make sure u have good lighting for the plants.

xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx

Candiru
MFK Member
Jul 10, 2011
Denver, CO.
I get some of my plants from people on http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/ , I also get some from http://trinsfish.com/plants/

My lighting was from ebay, for both of my 45 gallon long and my 30 gallon tanks, filters are from ebay, co2 regulator from ebay, co2 tank is from a local liquor store who sells them and also refills them.

Dry fertilizers are from http://greenleafaquariums.com/aquarium-fertilizer.html

Fish are from local fish stores, driftwood was found by a local river, flourite and floramax substrate are from petsmart.... Tanks and stands are from craigslist!

JohnTr

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Sep 16, 2015
Thanks for all your advices, i was searching on Craigslist, nothing's there. Only 2,3 local forums and they are mostly in cichlids. And one planted aquarium group on fb, but last updated was 2014.

Deadliestviper7

The Necromancer
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2016