Ordering specific Mbuna

rarbona1029

Gambusia
MFK Member
Nov 24, 2016
Hello all and Happy Thanksgiving! Just joined the forum to ask a few questions about ordering fish online, something I have never done before.

some info.

The tank in question is a 55g mbuna tank I aquired, that needs some work in the stocking department. once I remove the few incompatible fish I will be left with 3 adult male's of different species that are very healthy and Ide rather not part with. 1 is a yellow lab, the second is a red zebra and the third is a blue johanni.

As you can guess tension is a little high and everyone hides in the large amount of rock I have provided except the big johanni and red zebra.

I would like to purchase approximatly 4 females of each species to fill out this tank and reduce aggression of king johanni.

Does any of this sound wrong or is there any advice I should hear going forward?

Additional information Huntsville Al is my location and my local LFS usually only carries juvenile "mixed africans". So im looking for a reputable wholesaler of africans as close as possible toreduce shipping stress.

Thanks guys, any conversation is appreciated
I'll upload pics if anyone is interested.

DJRansome

Aimara
MFK Member
Mar 16, 2008
New Jersey
Yellow labs and red zebras crossbreed so I would not mix them. Johannii is too aggressive for a 48x12 tank.

You may have Pseudotropheus cyaneorhabdos Maingano which looks the same (males) but is a little less aggressive. You might TRY them in a 48x12 tank. I'd get 7 females of the maingano though...to manage aggression.

rarbona1029

Gambusia
MFK Member
Nov 24, 2016