What is the best aquascape for a large green severum

Midory

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 16, 2016
Hi, I am new to fish keeping and I have inherited/rescued a large green severum, it is about 6 inches long, I am unsure if it is a male or female. I keep Sev in a 30 gallon tank with a red tail shark and a couple of algae eaters. I am intending to upgrade to a bigger tank to accommodate this lovely green severum as it is quite a character. I have plants in the tank which Sev likes but occasionally he/she completely wrecks them ..picks up the pots, pulls the plants out and it looks like a bomb has hit the tank. Should I not keep plants with the sev and just put rocks in? I am worried that all the dead plant matter that is floating around will decrease my water quality and I find it hard to keep cleaning up after a rampage. What do others suggest that know this fish please.

Stanzzzz7

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Sep 26, 2015
Uk
In the wild severum tend to like hanging around fallen tree branches and roots.I would try to create this in your tank with driftwood and branches.A substrate of sand would be ideal.If you wanted a really natural look you could add some dead oak leaves.

Midory

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 16, 2016
In the wild severum tend to like hanging around fallen tree branches and roots.I would try to create this in your tank with driftwood and branches.A substrate of sand would be ideal.If you wanted a really natural look you could add some dead oak leaves.

Midory

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 16, 2016
Thank you for your reply. So dead leaves are ok? I do have wood in there so maybe I'll just ditch the plants in the new tank. I would like to use sand but all the comments I have read say it's tricky to use as a substrate. Are these fish known to have behavioral issues as I notice it's when I work a late shift and the routine changes that the tank wrecking is likely to happen.

neutrino

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jan 22, 2013
Mid-Atlantic, US