Most Aggressive cichlids Top 15

RockyMountainCichlids

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 3, 2015
Colorado
I'm aware every cichlid is different and they have their very own personality, but I'm making this from personal experience. Feel free to share your views! I know there are a lot of topics on it, but none of a list that came from me :p, this is an interesting but subjective topic that get's discussed a lot! We love fish with attitudes

Let me know what you think, I've been keeping cichlids for 12 years now. You gotta love em' :)

Here's the list! I know I mentioned some african cichlids in there, but majority are CA/SA so I'll post it under here!

Top 15 Most Aggressive Cichlids (CA/SA/WA)

1: Parachromis dovii- The famous wolf cichlid. Absolutely no other cichlid can come close to this brute. Built like a tank and thirsty for blood, this beast will eliminate all other tankmates like it was some walk in a park.

2: Hemichromis fasciatus- Banded jewelfish. I can only describe this fish in two words, ‘’HOLY SH**’’. They might lack in size, but I’ve seen little 4 inch specimens run a tank with Dovii, Red Devil, and Buttikoferi that were TWICE it’s size. It was ludicrous, I couldn’t believe my eyes until I purchased one, I’d put this fish as #1 if the dovii wasn’t built like a machine.

3: Nandopsis haitiensis- The Black Nasty cichlid. Although both sex of this species are nasty, it’s the females that deserve the reputation and it’s the females that can go completely “Black”-Nasty with color. The name itself is enough to warn you before bringing black hell into your home.

4: Nandopsis grammodes- Mini Dovii cichlid. This contender would get #3, but it lacks growth. They might grow extremely slow, yet that doesn’t slow them down from battering the living hell out of their tankmates. Grammodes are the most impressive cichlids when it comes to pure persistence when fighting!