Safe Vs Prime

tarheel96

Polypterus
MFK Member
Feb 2, 2015
North Carolina
so would I use like a pinch of safe for my 29 gallon then?
When filling 32 gallon aging drums to let sit for at least 24 hours I add 1/8th tsp. Safe. My water contains an average of 2.8 ppm chloramine but ranges as high as 4.0 ppm.

You need measuring spoons used for cooking. There are metal sets on amazon that go down to the 32nd and 64th. I just have one to the 1/16 which is all you'll need.

RD. RD. Thanks. I was reading 250 g off the label and was thinking I remembered a higher number from somewhere.

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
As a chemist, I made dechlorinators daily as part of my job.
I would normally make a liter at a time, and a liter for my 1000 gallons of tanks, lasted quite long.
When the lab would toss bottles of liquid sodium thiosulfate because they considered them expired, I would take them home and use them another 3 or 4 weeks. For lab use they were very anal, for tanks, older bottles worked fine for me.
I did tests to assure this, my tap water usually averages about 1-1.5 ppm chloramine.
below a straight tap water sample

below, after the addition of Sodium Thio

The active ingredient of most dechlorinators, is Sodium Thiosulfate, some add ammonia neutralizers and some other stuff, but in reality its pretty much all the same.
Kind of like Aquarium salt.
To a chemist, salt is salt (NaCl) and a 50 lb bag for $5 from Home Depot is just as effective at curing ick, as a fraction sized box of aquarium salt at 10X the price.

Reactions: fishhead0103666

skjl47

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
May 16, 2011
Tennessee
As a chemist, I made dechlorinators daily as part of my job.
I would normally make a liter at a time, and a liter for my 1000 gallons of tanks, lasted quite long.