Help Building My Dream Tank

DocBrock

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 11, 2024
Hello all! As this is my first post, I'd like to confess I've been lurking for a very long time and have really enjoyed the content that you all provide. Now that the kids are getting older and I'm finding more time on my hands and our house feels empty, I think I'm finally wanting to realize my dream tank. As a child, I was an aquarium hobbyist with several 55 and 75 gallon tanks that were probably not well put together but the fish all did fine. I've always had a dream of putting together a large Cichlid tank, mainly peacock bass. Now that I have an entire finished basement to myself, I've been reading feverishly on the setup of a large 5' or 6' tank. There are so many different opinions on proper setup and filtration I'm having trouble dialing it in. I've been reluctant to post because all the info is in the search, but I feel lost. I'm also not sure whether this is even the correct category to post in.

Here's what is currently on my list for filtration setup:

150 or 210 gallon 6' tank

Fx6 canister

2 sponge filters

Aquaclear 110

Would this be sufficient? Would I need power heads? I want to avoid a sump at all costs.

I suppose all of this information changes based upon what I stock in the tank, but in my brain I would like to have a few Cichla or possibly a few other large cichlids. I haven't gotten that far yet, but this is something I want to put a lot of thought into. While finances are always important, I'd like it to be as inexpensive as possible, but not "cheap" and ramshackle.

I appreciate any help you all can offer and thank you in advance!

-Brock

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio