180 gallon planted aquarium.

Scruffy4

Candiru
MFK Member
Mar 11, 2020
Canada
hello, I just picked up a 180 gal for my manueli piranha. He’s currently housed in a 65 gal tank. I’m new to planted aquariums and have been doing research on lights/plants. I’m aiming towards going with no co2 and lower light plants. The tank came with 2 aquarium master 36” leds. I’ve researched them, they’re 10k and look to me to be completely garbage. They barely light up the tank now. I’ve been researching new lights non stop and sort of came to the fluval 3.0. I would go with 2 36”. Now I’m kind of wondering for the price tag will it be worth the reward. I don’t want to go heavily planted but would like to layer the tank with some sort of carpeting areas.I’m in no rush to add the manueli and would love to get this tank established before I add him(and obviously cycled). Anyways any suggestions/opinions would be great.

7FE0C576-F3AA-49ED-93B7-2D161BE9F487.jpeg

Deadeye

POTM Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2020
Only concern on my end is that piranhas like to eat plants. I’d hate to spend all that money on planting a tank for that to happen.
I don’t have too much experience in the planted tank field though, so others can chime in.

Rayfishowner

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
May 2, 2017
The lighting doesn’t look bad but def won’t be able to get any nice carpets (imo). However there is a plant that carpets in lower light called dwarf Sagittaria and it looks like a short jungleval which will send runners all around the tank.

For a more traditional carpet I recommend using a planted tank light on the market but that may be a bit expensive for that size aquarium.

I don’t have much experience with carpets(I’m actually trying to start one in my 75 gallon, but I use a cheap Costco led shop light which grows a lot of moderately strong light plants well.