ARAPAIMA colours

WARCRAFT

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jan 2, 2011
This is my First time in MFK it's really nice to see all your great comments , i do have a Arapaima and its 10'' - 11'' long and i bought it a week back and it is also Dark Green and Black no Red or other colored scales yet and im hoping it will be Colorful soon, i have a 2feet Glass tank and its really not enough for the Beast i call my Son ... !

Cheers
- WARCRAFT -

TLkmDN

Polypterus
MFK Member
Jul 11, 2007
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia/Perth, Australia
WARCRAFT;4756189;4756189 said:
This is my First time in MFK it's really nice to see all your great comments , i do have a Arapaima and its 10'' - 11'' long and i bought it a week back and it is also Dark Green and Black no Red or other colored scales yet and im hoping it will be Colorful soon, i have a 2feet Glass tank and its really not enough for the Beast i call my Son ... !

Cheers
- WARCRAFT -
woah thats pretty crazy. pls get a larger tank asap! but yes dw its colour shud come out at around the 18" mark! best of luck with ure new beast!

Reactions: boomerk9

ouinonyes

Feeder Fish
Feb 29, 2008
Sydney
Specifically what kind of diet or conditions would promote the red-ish hue of the arapaima. I currently am keeping a 1 . something metre arapaima with a giant gourami and a paroon shark in a 3mx2mx1.5x pond (will be upgraded by march), half sun-half shade and I really would like to learn if the red-ish colouring is trigger in for example spawning period....or if its totally irrelevant.

Reactions: boomerk9

Slaegr

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jan 19, 2011
Monster House
is this similar to how you maintain the red-color of an FH?

i have a juvi Arapaima around 4", he already has some faint red coloring in it's tail and head, but the grow-out tank he's in right now doesn't have any kind of display, background, pebbles etc.
just plain grow-out tank before i can put it in with my Alligator Gar.