Beginner here need some advice on tank

Jl1217

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 19, 2017
As the headline states I'm new to this and I'm setting up a 55 gallon tank for my new fish . I was told with this size tank I could go with 3 red belly piranaha s it that correct ? Water temp should be around 75 to 80 from what I'm reading on around 7 or 8 for the ph level but I can't find anymore information everything is new from plants to gravel to hiding spots so if anyone can give me a advice on what else I should do before I go spend the money on the piranaha s i would like them not to die cause of something I did
Thanks
Justin

DarthRhom

Candiru
MFK Member
Oct 25, 2006
New Jersey
You'll be fine starting out with that. Temp range is fine. Stability is more important for the PH. Your tank is small for keeping Piranha so you need to put in work. Frequent water changes and live plants to help water quality. You may also experience territorial issues as they get bigger. Try and upgrade the tank by next year if possible.

Reactions: tlindsey

kno4te

MFK Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Dec 24, 2005
USA
Make sure the tank is cycled prior to putting fish in it. Take into consideration what’s already been mentioned.

Boomer1224

Candiru
MFK Member
Jun 24, 2017
a 55 gal is fine for 3 red bellies or if you are worried try for a smaller serra species

Fishnerd360

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2018
What do you mean by cycled? Thank you.