Beginner here with 120g drilled tank off craigslist

wynnyelle

Exodon
MFK Member
Apr 23, 2017
Hi everyone I hope I'm doing this right. Apologies if I'm not. I have been wanting to upgrade my 29g tank for some time (a few of my fish getting a little big for it, plus I just wanted a bigger one) so I got this 120g tank for $50 off craigslist this weekend. Figured I could turn around and sell it back if I can't get it up and running. So I decided to post here asking if anyone here would know what I need to do (and buy!) to get this tank running.

The tank: 2' x 4' and 2' high, with 4 holes drilled in the bottom (going to upload pics) comes with a Marineland 360 filter that I then found out has some damage, though I'm told it works, haven't gotten to try it out yet. Looked up a video on how to set it up, thought I was fine till I realised it was missing the piping. The tank comes with no lid (so I need to track one of those down or make one) and it came with this white PVC piping that may have been custom made for this tank by the previous (original) owner, who is ill and not available to show me any of it. I just need to know where to start with this, or whether it'd be better for me to sell it on and get something that isn't bottom drilled. I'm more than willing to learn especially since it took me and my parents all our might to get the tank home and into my place, and they aren't up for doing that again and I don't have any friends around here who'd be able to help me move another one in.

Thanks all for any help you can lend me!

IMG_2835.JPG

IMG_2840.JPG

IMG_2842.JPG

Apologies for the dirty tank--I haven't yet begun the cleaning.

Reactions: J. H.

Grinch

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Apr 23, 2014
NJ
Looks like you got a great deal with all the parts you need so long as it holds water :)

I'd run it through a sump rather than that canister.

Angelphish

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 13, 2015
Georgia