Bichir

Srinath

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 13, 2022
I wanted to keep bichir for a long time and finally got my bichir from my LFS. Even though I'm new to polypterus I have done some research myself about bichir and their needs including types, diet, tank mates, and everything. I thought this one belongs to polypterus ornatipinnis but the shopkeeper told its leopard bichir. I have never heard a type called leopard bichir. Is both ornate and leopard are same? If not what type its belong to? Pls help me I'd ing this one.

Currently I'm keeping in my Quarantine system and feeding on hikari massivore delite. Will planned to move to my 210g once he put on some size.
IMG_20220213_015029_Bokeh__01.jpg

Bara fisk

Exodon
MFK Member
May 3, 2022
hi ! what's inside the 210g if i may ask ? ornate indeed , upper jaw species aswell which is usually more active i got a 8.5 inch one recently and its even close to being anoyingly active compared to my other bichirs. personally i really enjoy the lower jaw ones especially now that you have such a good tank for it !

Srinath

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 13, 2022
hi ! what's inside the 210g if i may ask ? ornate indeed , upper jaw species aswell which is usually more active i got a 8.5 inch one recently and its even close to being anoyingly active compared to my other bichirs. personally i really enjoy the lower jaw ones especially now that you have such a good tank for it !
IMG_20220131_151226.jpg

• Love
Reactions: Caveden

Bara fisk

Exodon
MFK Member
May 3, 2022
oh my ... i only been in the hobby for about 1 year and i havnet even dared to aquascape like that yet hold one sec im gonna send you a pic of my 190g!

Srinath

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 13, 2022