Breeding feeder fish

PredatorPiqued

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2020
Maine
I'm about to get a 55 gallon tank set up. Is it possible to breed Molly's, convicts, or another feeder fish, and also raise them in the same tank??? If so witch ones would be the best choice. I've never done this before

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
I'm about to get a 55 gallon tank set up. Is it possible to breed Molly's, convicts, or another feeder fish, and also raise them in the same tank??? If so witch ones would be the best choice. I've never done this before
[/QUOTE
You can breed them and raise them in the same aquarium but after a couple generations from the same group there will be weaker genes and deformed fish.

PredatorPiqued

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2020
Maine
So if I was to put a divider up and separate young from parent, are you saying that after awhile the original parents will produce deformed fish? Initially having to buy more adults every so often for breeding?

Reactions: tlindsey

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
So if I was to put a divider up and separate young from parent, are you saying that after awhile the original parents will produce deformed fish? Initially having to buy more adults every so often for breeding?
No if the fry grow up and start to breed with the parents or each other the same strain will become weaker and start to produce fish that will easily become sick and some will become deformed. I suggest switching up with a different male or female from different stock after a few times of the same pair.

Hybridfish7

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Dec 4, 2017
in a 55 you're not gonna be able to either find, let alone catch fry if you intend to use them as feeders. unless you mean just cover it in plants and wait a year for everything's population to be unnecessarily high.

Reactions: tlindsey

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee