Breeding projects

RickLive615

Black Skirt Tetra
MFK Member
Aug 16, 2019
Hey guys, new here though I’ve been reading as a ghost for months!

I’m new to breeding as well and have a couple projects I want to work on and I’d like to ask what all I could possibly selectively create down the road.

In one tank I have 2 Synspilum I don’t know the sexy of yet and 1 Red Devil I believe is female...I know that makes a rose queen

My other tank is a male SRD and a beautiful Blood Parrot i believe is female and I think they have paired just no spawning yet but the exert the behavior.

Thanks in advance 138424013842411384242

Reactions: johnnymax

johnnymax

Dovii
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2019
Southeast, Texas
Nice tanks and fish. I can't give you much advice, because I myself am venturing into breeding (for fun and entertainment).
I have had fish breed many times, but they were just being fish. I do know water quality is key. Happy fish do what happy fish do.
Are you going to have grow out tanks for the fry?

RickLive615

Black Skirt Tetra
MFK Member
Aug 16, 2019
Are you going to have grow out tanks for the fry?
Yes I’m in the process of getting that 36” rack from Lowe’s and atleast one more 40b for the time being...the Synspilum and Red Devil are in a 75 and still a few months from sexual maturity I’d guess.....the SRD and BP are probably a little closer but I still have some time and they’re in a 40b themselves

johnnymax

Dovii
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2019
Southeast, Texas
I am going to have to set up breeder tanks this Winter myself. I still have time.
What type of fish is that in the first picture?

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Welcome aboard