Caudopunctatus "Red Fin"

MFM

Piranha
MFK Member
Jun 22, 2009
SD
Hello everyone!
I've recently acquired 5 Neolamprologous Caudopunctatus "Red Fin" and they are being housed in a 30 gallon tank. I'm new to this fish, mainly to African cichlids as a whole, and I've really enjoying watching them for the past few days and look forward to attempting to breed them. The tank currently houses a baby Starlight Bushynose pleco which is helping keep the tank clean, having cleaned almost half of the back of the tank in a few days. These sure are feisty little fish, as they attacked my hand while I was cleaning the tank only a day after they were introduced. Below are a few (iPhone) pictures of their tank and if you have any ideas on decor, please comment below! I do plan on adding a few more larger rocks in the near future to help break up the areas of the tank and there are three shells buried in the sand, although I've read there prefer rocks to breed on.

IMG_1538.jpeg

IMG_1548.jpeg

IMG_1551.jpeg

IMG_1552.jpeg

IMG_1564.jpeg

Longmayitreign

Exodon
MFK Member
Aug 28, 2019
Toronto
Never kept caudopunks but if they breed then you will want some flat stacked rocks so that the fry can hide in the crevices at night. Although a better thing to do would be getting a different tank for the fry or getting a breeder box/net for them.
Idk about the pleco it might eat the fry.

Reactions: MFM

MFM

Piranha
MFK Member
Jun 22, 2009
SD
Never kept caudopunks but if they breed then you will want some flat stacked rocks so that the fry can hide in the crevices at night. Although a better thing to do would be getting a different tank for the fry or getting a breeder box/net for them.
Idk about the pleco it might eat the fry.
Sounds like a good idea! I think I have some slate I can throw in the tank for them. I also have a breeder net which will come in handy when needed. The pleco isn't permanent, just too small for my 75g currently so its in the 30 for now.

deeda

Silver Tier VIP