first aquarium build

lampy007

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 14, 2017
Hi all

a little about myself
In my old house I had 5 Cichlid tanks which I had for approximately 8 years, Luckily my wife fell pregnant but unluckily that meant goodbye fish as we now had no room for fish except 1 small goldfish tank. All the tanks I have ever had have been freshwater I have built a few glass sump tanks in the past but this is about the limit of my fishkeeping experience.

SO moving on

we have now brought a MUCH bigger house which can hold a MONSTER aquarium, as I have never done anything like this before I am really looking for quite a bit of help, also being a business owner I over plan things and and a fussy bastard when it comes to building, and on top of that because I am a tradie I HATE to see any plumbing/electrical wires etc, everything HAS to be hidden....

So now to the bit where I need help
as I work A LOT is there a way to have a "self sustaining" salt water aquarium with coral? Or would I be better staying with a freshwater Aquarium?

The Tank
I am looking at building something roughly 3000mm long, 1000mm wide, 1000mm tall
To keep everything nice and tidy and easy to hide I am thinking about an overflow like this
with a large sump down the bottom

So i am going to need help with things like what actual size to build this thing so its easy enough to clean, what size pipe to use, what to put in my sump, what size pump, etc etc.

any reading material or advice would be fantastic

TIA

lampy007

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 14, 2017
cant post a link in the thread bummer
glassreef com / basics _ overflow php

lampy007

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 14, 2017
I found a calculator it looks like I will need 40mm acrylic sheets with bracing for something this big. And 3.1 L/H

lampy007

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 14, 2017
So I have done up some drawings of what I think I am looking for with my sump setup and tank setup.