First bass and ray upgrade in progress

SheoshScout

Exodon
MFK Member
Jun 20, 2015
Finally got some of the little guys grown up and into their upgrade. I wanted this in my living room so we had to do a little structural support first. I have an older house with odd sized floor joists so I made sure to lean towards overkill with this part. Started by putting 2x6 blocking between the floor joists 12" apart then added some vertical 4x4 green treated posts for support. Got this tank really cheap because it needed some work. I redid the silicone and touched up some other parts. I am a welder by trade so naturally the stand is 1.5" square tubing covered in solid oak panels and doors. Canopy is also oak. Found and treated all the driftwood with more to add soon. Current filtration is fx6 x's 2. The next step is putting in a sump. I was hesitant to use the overflows right off the bat because something about the seams just bugged me. So I did what would be considered a triple pass in the welding world with the silicone on them and they are just fine. After the sump gets put in I will finish the scape job. I will be adding more suspended driftwood so the ray still has plenty of footprint to travel. Then adding a few rock outcrops with some larger rocks. Still undecided on substrate or not. This project is still in works, will update as we go. As always, looking for any input/advice/constructive criticism20170218_215022.jpg 20170218_214907.jpg 20170218_214558.jpg 20170218_205438.jpg 20170218_120248.jpg 20170218_125909.jpg

Freshwater4Life

Dovii
MFK Member
Dec 22, 2015
VB
Looks good but with rays I would do something with that heater I've taken pvc tubing ,drilled holes in it and made a cheap heater guard . Also im not sure about that substrate unless it's the fine grain peace river but maybe a more experienced ray keeper can chime in.

SheoshScout

Exodon
MFK Member
Jun 20, 2015