Help! Unidenifiable substance

Petrella88

Gambusia
MFK Member
Sep 29, 2008
Chicago
I have had a tank set up for a few months, Im pretty new to aquaria but I read alot and spend alot of time on MFK or in my LFS. Nobody at my LFS can figure out what is growing on my driftwood so I turned to my fellow MFK'ers

I tried a Fungal tablet and it turned everything cloudy and green and it is starting to go away but the Fungi was unharmed

I attempted to scrape the fungi off while in the tank and it made a mess so I make a few quick swoops with my fish net and picked it up

I would like to boil, bleach or at least give a good scrubbing with a wire brush but I Rafael wont come out of the holes

Im worried about bleaching due to the fact that wood is porous and may hold bleach

I had 2 LFS test my water and the only conclusion is that my water levels are fine with Nitrates just barely a sliver higher than ideal I have also brought samples of the unknown substance to all LFS in my area with no conclusion as to what it is however very mixed results as to weather or not it is dangerous, soon to be problimatic, or just a bit of an eyesore

Thank you all for reading

IMG_0184.jpg

IMG_0185.jpg

portabuddy

Candiru
MFK Member
Nov 16, 2006
mississauga
i bleached 3 logs because of my red algea problem. it worked well, except that it turned the water red, took out the tannons. i left it for a week. then i washed the wood and cleaned off all the dead algea with a brush.

Then in the same bucket i filled it with water and de-chlorenator. the stuff i use for my water changes. and left it for another week. came back to it and the water smelled nutral, mucky like a swamp but that was to be expected. then i sculded it with hot water and dried it off. once dry all the beach is 100% de-acticated... but this did take a month, ok a total of 3 hours stretched over a month.

But it worked well...

cudamaster13

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Aug 14, 2008
southern california