Hydrocynus vittatus my journey towards raising monster of a fish

cal4149

Exodon
MFK Member
Apr 1, 2015
india
Hi guys this is now post as to my experience on owning a hydrocynus vittatus

The journey starts ten years back when i just got into the hobby and owned a flowerhorn and then some red bellys . Just going through the net had found some videos of some hydrocynus Goliath and vittatus. This made me completely hooked so much so i had been to every fish store around my state in search the fish i so desired. But to no way avail for the last ten years, but finally had found a person who seemed reliable and after 3 months i have my babies home here are a few images which I'm sharing and will a progress about thier growth and exact diet and care . I am very new to these species and hope to have ur suggestions and valuable inputs regarding their care

The process of selection from my man across the sea
Screenshot_20200109-020927.jpg

Screenshot_20191122-183638.jpg

Finally got the ones i was looking forScreenshot_20200111-115219.jpg

They arriving in my local fish storeScreenshot_20200112-185039.jpg

And they my tankIMG_20200123_195303.jpg

Paired them with a pair of geophagus altifrons,
Eartheater and red head tapajos

These babies some how luv hikari food sticks for carnivore so happy don't hav to use love feeders

Reactions: Magnus_andersson

Chicxulub

Hand of the King
Administrator
Aug 29, 2009
I crash at the K-Pg
Good stuff! That's definitely a vatf, too. ;)