I know I need more but what?

DRteugelsi

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 25, 2016
Ohio
So I have been keeping fish for about 8 years and just only got into planted aquarium and bought 2 Amazon swords but I was wondering what I could do plant wise. The tank I'm currently working on is a 60 gallon with an EBA and a polypterus senegalus. I'm open to any suggestions and planning on upgrading my lighting if need be due to the fact I have no clue what the wattage is on the bulbs so I'm basically open to any suggestions and tips on what I can do.

Reactions: GamerChick5567

limz_777

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
May 7, 2005
when in doubt , i probably would recommend t5ho lighting , they can grow almost every plants

DRteugelsi

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 25, 2016
Ohio
Thank you I'll look into those! Also, any suggestions on the layout would be helpful.

Fat Homer

Mmmmm... Doughnuts
Staff member
MFK Member
Mar 16, 2009
----
With T5-HO bulbs you will need a good few plants in there to help keep algae at bay by uusing up extra nutrients and maybe some liquid Co2 such as excel...

If you want to keep it low tech, you can always looking into using T8 or regular T5 bulbs for a low to medium light setup with less demanding plants...

DRteugelsi

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 25, 2016
Ohio
My plan mostly with this one is just to get success with a more beginner plant set up with a nice aquascape and then turn one of my smaller tanks (probably the 29 gallon) into a full blown plant take or mostly plant tank. Possibly some rams or just small community fish

Wiggie

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Feb 5, 2017
Charlotte, NC
T
My plan mostly with this one is just to get success with a more beginner plant set up with a nice aquascape and then turn one of my smaller tanks (probably the 29 gallon) into a full blown plant take or mostly plant tank. Possibly some rams or just small community fish