I need advice for setting up a 75 gallon saltwater aquarium.

Finthusiast

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2019
Hello everyone hope you are doing good through these crazy times! For anyone who has seen me around, I have sent Crash my mayan cichlid to my lfs because I could no longer keep my fish tank :( However my uncle has bought all my fish equipment and wants me to set up a salt water aquarium for him. I have never done salt water before and I dont even know where to start. I think we have everything we need except for a pump for the 75 gallon tank. So main questions:

What pump do I need?

How do I start a saltwater ecosystem that will be safe for anemones?

How much maintenance will be required to keep the system working properly?

How to do water changes?

Any and all advice will be appreciated thanks in advance!

Edit: another question how do I cycle a saltwater tank is it the same as freshwater?

Finthusiast

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2019
Hey no replies yet just bumpin this up in case anyone can answer some of these questions. My uncle is trying to create an ecosystem that will contain some type of eel and other species that are compatable I am completely new to this but I know there are limited options just not sure where to start thanks again!

Deadeye

POTM Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2020
I only have a limited knowledge coming from a fluval 13.5 gallon, so I can answer a few.
1. Not sure about pumps.
2. Your best bet is to use salt that is good for coral and anemones (I use reef crystals), and then to wait a few months until the tank is really established so you can put it in.
3. Most maintenance is along the lines of weekly water changes, constantly checking parameters (especially if you want corals), and monitoring the salinity.